VALBONNE


Loading

VALBONNE

Visit Valbonne, 15 minutes from our holidays cottages in Bar sur Loup, and 10 minutes from our vacations apartments in Mougins

The meeting of Provence to France by Louis XI, was the prelude to the rebirth of the region. By the will of the monk of Lérins prior of Valbonne, don Antoine Taxil, the village will be born in 1519 of an economic evidence: to emphasize the lands of the abbey. An orthogonal plot is created and an original solution is found: local investors, clerks and notables, awardees of the lots, will rent them with land attached to farmers, mainly from the Haut-Pays to cultivate the land assets, load to them to build the houses. An act of habitation describes the rights and duties of the new inhabitants but also the architectural details, according to a rigorous “cahier des charges”. The construction will take place over a century. The village will remain rural and relatively isolated, almost unchanged, until the middle of the 20th century. The proximity of the coast and especially, in the 1970s, the creation of the university, scientific, technological and residential Sophia Antipolis, built largely on the forest of Valbonne, have transformed the region.
On an orthogonal plan, around the Place des Arcades, built in the early seventeenth century, five streets descend from north to south, ten streets from east to west, two ducts wide (about four meters), intersecting at right angles , forming a checkerboard plan that gives seen from the sky, a characteristic image of Valbonne. The same rigor is found in the plan of high and narrow houses, originally all identical: a ground floor served as a shed that nowadays is found in the basement, because of the elevation of the level from the street ; on the first floor the “room”, room to live; above the rooms, and finally the attic where were stored reserves hoisted with a pulley, some of which are still visible. In the high street is the old town hall with its tower and fountain built in the nineteenth century.

The 13th century Romanesque abbey church, which became a parish church for the construction of the village, is the perfect example of Chalais art, very close to primitive Cistercian art. The bell tower was added in the nineteenth century. Several chapels and oratories, in the village and in the countryside, complete the religious architecture.
The conventual buildings, well preserved, whose restoration begun in 1970 continues, welcome the Heritage Museum “The Old Valbonne” which presents many objects, utensils and tools representative of the rural life of the village and revives, through presentations and books, the history of the village and the monastic order of Chalais.
The old village invites you to stroll. On an orthogonal plan, around the Place des Arcades, built at the beginning of the XVIIth century, five streets descend from north to south, ten streets from east to west, two ducts wide (about four meters), intersecting at right angles , forming a checkerboard plan that gives seen from the sky, a characteristic image of Valbonne. The same rigor is found in the plan of high and narrow houses, originally all identical: a ground floor served as a shed that nowadays is found in the basement, because of the elevation of the level from the street ; on the first floor the “room”, room to live; above the rooms, and finally the attic where were stored reserves hoisted with a pulley, some of which are still visible. In the high street is the old town hall with its tower and fountain built in the nineteenth century. And we will show you the historic boulodrome of the town.

Tourist Office of Valbonne: Place de l’Hôtel de Ville – +33 (0) 4.93.12.34.50

Festivals, festivities and events

Fête des métiers du feu: Every last weekend of September, Valbonne quickly at the time of the crafts of the fire. For two days, blacksmiths, glassmakers and potters set up their workshops and stalls in the streets and squares of Valbonne. More than a festive event, it is primarily a meeting between connoisseurs, apprentices and visitors, which is of professional, human and historical interest. Demonstrations, lectures, educational films, exhibitions and other activities will be offered.

Feast of St. Blaise (end of January): In order to help preserve the rural and cultural heritage, the Municipality created in 1995 a communal vineyard. 300 vines of a late grape called the servan were planted on a suitable site. The vine now gives several hundred kilos of grapes. It is mainly the pleasure of gourmets on the occasion of Saint Blaise, the great festival of local produce at the end of January in the Village.

Feast of St Roch (early August): Great popular festival of the summer, St Roch offers several days of festivities, balls, country meals, ball sisters, games for children.

The Sophia Antipolis science park

Located in the heart of a 2,400 hectare pine forest, it brings together more than 1,400 companies worldwide (Amadeus, Schneider Electric, Hewlett-Packard, Thales, Orange, Bayer, Legrand, Air France, Siemens AG, NXP, SAP, Accenture, Toyota, …) and nearly 30,000 direct jobs in advanced scientific research in the field of information and communication technologies (CNRS, CSTB, INRA, INRIA, INSERM, I3S, LEAT, research from Mines ParisTech), multimedia, life sciences (medicine and biochemistry), energy, water management, risks, sustainable development. There are also nearly 4,500 students and researchers from major engineering schools such as Mines ParisTech, Polytech’Nice Sophia, Eurécom Institute (Telecom Paris), CNAM It is a replica of the Silicon Valley in France.

VALBONNE


Loading

VALBONNE

Visiter Valbonne, à 15 mn de nos gites de Bar sur Loup, et 10 mn de nos appartements de Mougins

La réunion de la Provence à la France par Louis XI, fut le prélude à la renaissance de la région. Par la volonté du moine de Lérins prieur de Valbonne, don Antoine Taxil, le village va naître en 1519 d’une évidence économique : mettre en valeur les terres de l’abbaye. Un parcellaire orthogonal est constitué et une solution originale est trouvée : des investisseurs locaux, clercs et notables, attributaires des lots, les loueront avec les terres qui y sont attachées à des paysans, venus principalement du Haut-Pays pour cultiver le patrimoine foncier, charge à eux de construire les maisons. Un acte d’habitation décrit les droits et devoirs des nouveaux habitants mais aussi les détails architecturaux, selon un « cahier des charges » rigoureux. La construction s’effectuera sur un siècle. Le village restera rural et relativement isolé, presque sans changement, jusqu’au milieu du XXe siècle. La proximité du littoral et surtout, dans les années 1970, la création du pôle universitaire, scientifique, technologique et résidentiel de Sophia Antipolis, construit en grande partie sur la forêt de Valbonne, ont transformé la région.
Sur un plan orthogonal, autour de la place des Arcades, bâtie au début du XVIIe siècle, cinq rues descendent du nord au sud, dix rues d’est en ouest, larges de deux canes (environ quatre mètres), se croisant à angles droits, formant un plan en damier qui donne vu du ciel, une image caractéristique de Valbonne. La même rigueur se retrouve dans le plan des maisons hautes et étroites, à l’origine toutes identiques : un rez-de-chaussée servait de remise qui de nos jours se retrouve en demi sous-sol, en raison de l’élévation du niveau de la rue ; au premier étage la « salle », pièce à vivre ; au-dessus les chambres, et enfin le grenier où étaient entreposées les réserves hissées à l’aide d’une poulie, dont quelques-unes se voient encore. Dans la grand-rue se trouve l’ancien hôtel de ville avec sa tour et sa fontaine construite au XIXe siècle.

L’église abbatiale romane du XIIIe siècle devenue église paroissiale à la construction du village, est l’exemple parfait de l’art chalaisien, très proche de l’art primitif cistercien. Le clocher a été ajouté au XIXe siècle. Plusieurs chapelles et oratoires, au village et dans la campagne, complètent l’architecture religieuse.
Les bâtiments conventuels, bien conservés, dont la restauration commencée en 1970 se poursuit, accueillent le musée du patrimoine « Le Vieux Valbonne » qui présente de nombreux objets, ustensiles et outils représentatifs de la vie rurale du village et fait revivre, au travers de présentations et d’ouvrages, l’histoire du village et de l’ordre monastique de Chalais.
Le vieux village vous invite à la flânerie. Sur un plan orthogonal, autour de la place des Arcades, bâtie au début du XVIIème siècle, cinq rues descendent du nord au sud, dix rues d’est en ouest, larges de deux canes (environ quatre mètres), se croisant à angles droits, formant un plan en damier qui donne vu du ciel, une image caractéristique de Valbonne. La même rigueur se retrouve dans le plan des maisons hautes et étroites, à l’origine toutes identiques : un rez-de-chaussée servait de remise qui de nos jours se retrouve en demi sous-sol, en raison de l’élévation du niveau de la rue ; au premier étage la « salle », pièce à vivre ; au-dessus les chambres, et enfin le grenier où étaient entreposées les réserves hissées à l’aide d’une poulie, dont quelques-unes se voient encore. Dans la grand-rue se trouve l’ancien hôtel de ville avec sa tour et sa fontaine construite au XIXème siècle. Et nous vous indiquerons le boulodrome historique de la commune.

Office du tourisme de Valbonne : Place de l’Hôtel de Ville – +33(0)4.93.12.34.50

Fêtes, festivités et manifestations à Valbonne

Fête des métiers du feu : Chaque dernier week-end de septembre, Valbonne vite à l’heure des métiers du feu. Pendant deux jours, forgerons, verriers et potiers installent leurs ateliers et leurs échoppes dans les rues et sur les place de Valbonne. Plus qu’un événement festif, il s’agit d’abord d’une rencontre entre les connaisseurs, les apprentis et les visiteurs, ce qui présente un intérêt professionnel, humain et historique. Des démonstrations, des conférences, des films pédagogiques, des expositions et autres activités vous seront proposés.

Fête de la St Blaise (fin janvier) : Soucieuse d’aider à la préservation du patrimoine rural et culturel, la Municipalité a créé en 1995 une vigne communale. 300 pieds de vigne d’un raisin tardif appelé le servan ont ainsi été plantés sur un emplacement adapté. La vigne donne à présent plusieurs centaines de kilos de raisins. Il fait essentiellement le plaisir des gourmets à l’occasion de la Saint Blaise, la grande fête des produits du terroir à la fin du mois de Janvier au Village.

Fête de la St Roch (début août) : Grande fête populaire de l’été, la St Roch propose plusieurs jours de festivités, bals, repas champêtre, consours de boule, jeux pour les enfants.

La technopole de Sophia Antipolis

Située au coeur d’une pinède de 2 400 hectare, elle regroupe plus de 1 400 entreprises du monde entier (Amadeus, Schneider Electric, Hewlett-Packard, Thales, Orange, Bayer, Legrand, Air France, Siemens AG, NXP, SAP, Accenture, Toyota, …) et près de 30 000 emplois directs en recherche scientifique de pointe dans le domaine des technologies de l’information et de la communication (CNRS, CSTB, INRA, INRIA, INSERM, I3S, LEAT, centres de recherche de Mines ParisTech), des multimédias, sciences de la vie (médecine et biochimie), l’énergie, la gestion de l’eau, des risques, du développement durable. On y trouve également près de 4 500 étudiants et chercheurs de grandes écoles d’ingénieur comme Mines ParisTech, Polytech’Nice Sophia, Institut Eurécom (Télécom Paris), CNAM Elle est une réplique à l’échelle de la France de la Silicon Valley.